Photo Friday: Hawaiian Sunset

By Alexis

Palm trees at sunset on the Big Island, Hawaii

The first night I met David, I remember thinking he was sooo cool for being from Hawaii. Now I’m married to him and can honestly say that, even after years of being together, I still gush over the fact that he grew up somewhere so magical (I particularly love when he speaks a little pidgin, haha). Makes me feel like I somehow snagged an exotic prince!

The summer after I graduated college, I moved out to Hawaii’s Big Island to be with David while he finished his last semester. If you haven’t been before, I can vouch for the fact that the Big Island has a little something for everybody: hiking through lush jungles, white sand beaches with swaying palm trees, decent surfing spots, stunning mountain views, and sometimes even snow to play in!

The photo above was taken at one of the beautiful sandy beaches on the dry, Kona side of the island. Since we lived in Hilo (on the wet side of the island known for it’s black sand beaches) we’d often make the hour long trip over to the Kona side and spend the day lounging on the soft sand, waiting for sunset views like this.

I really can’t imagine a place more heavenly.

Nice comments only, please :)

