Photo Friday: Child Monk Crossing

By Alexis

A child monk walks across the street in Luang Prabang, Laos

A child monk crosses the road in Luang Prabang, Laos

I’m back! Sorry for the delay in doing these Photo Friday posts the last couple weeks. I had a family emergency and had to take a last-minute flight back to the States, but luckily David was able to keep the blog going while I was away. For those curious, everything turned out okay back home and now I’m back in Thailand, worry-free 🙂

Since I took a little hiatus, I wanted to make sure my first post back was a good one, so today I’m sharing one of my favorite pictures from our time in Asia so far.

Back in the summer, David and I made a quick trip to the Lao People’s Democratic Republic so that I could get my work visa from the Thai embassy in Vientiane, the capital city on the south. We decided to make a vacation out of it and also visited the pretty little town of Luang Prabang for a couple days. I took this shot on Luang Prabang’s main tourist street, just as I was hopping into the back of a taxi truck.

I don’t know what it is about this picture, but I just love it.

The boy didn’t seem too excited to have me taking his photo, but…I mean, he just looks so cool. In my most flattering fantasies, his expression reminds me of this amazing photo by Roger Stonehouse which depicts two perfectly opposite boys.

I’m usually pretty nervous about doing street photography, but I’m so glad I had the guts to snap this shot before the moment passed.

Nice comments only, please :)

