A Selection of Funny Thai Nicknames

By Alexis

Elementary ESL students lay on the ground in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Like a lot of language classes, the students at my school don’t go by their native language name, instead working under a made up English nickname. After six months of teaching, I’m still not entirely sure where my students actually get these names…. Do they pick them themselves? Do their parents or kindergarten teachers pick them? Someone once told me that police officers pick them (??).

I have no idea.

But in the end, some of them end up with hilariously awesome ones. Here are some of my favorites, all of which are 100% real:

Boss

Dear

Focus

Ice

Cello

Beauty

First

Great

Name (I actually have two Names)

Cha-Cha

Brain

Cartoon

Think

and my personal favorite…

Sandwich

2 thoughts on “A Selection of Funny Thai Nicknames

Nice comments only, please :)

