Roses on the Road Won A Liebster Award!

A few week ago, Jelena of 100 Days of Sunshine nominated us for a Liebster Award, an honor meant to congratulate new bloggers for their initial success and further encourage the discovery and recognition of your peers.

First, we’d like to give a big THANKS to Jelena! We really appreciate the support!

These are the rules for accepting the Liebster award:

  1. Post the award on your blog.
  2. Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.
  3. Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
  5. Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions.

Rules 1 and 2 have been checked off, so on to Rule 3. Since being married doesn’t magically make you one person with identical thoughts, you’ll be getting a double dose of answers. That’s what’s called a two-for-one special.

11 Random Facts About Alexis:

  1. I visited 20 countries before I was 20-years-old, and I’m on my way to 30 before 30.
  2. My guilty pleasure is the TV show Teen Mom.
  3. I have 2 full siblings, 3 half-siblings, and 9 step-siblings, bringing me to a grand total of 14. True story.
  4. I never liked beef when I was a kid, but my dad would tell me it was “monkey meat” and then I would eat it, no problem. Weird.
  5. My #1 go-to snack is chips (currently addicted to sour cream and onion Pringles).
  6. I was valedictorian in high school.
  7. I had a nose piercing for about 6 years.
  8. I studied abroad in Salzburg, Austria during my sophomore year of college and loved it.
  9. I spent two summers working at a car wash called Fabulous Freddy’s. No, I did not wear a bikini. And I didn’t even do the actual car washing. I was a sales girl and worked the gas pumps. Once, a lady told me I was “too pretty” to be working there and that I needed to get a sugar daddy instead. Oh, Vegas…
  10. I can’t stand slow walkers, people who block the end of escalators, and people who awkwardly sing in public. The first two are rage-inducing, and the last makes me cringe.
  11. My  nickname growing up was Lexie, and my family still calls me that.

11 Random Facts About David:

  1. I might be one of the worst spellers in the history of mankind. Definitely Top 10.
  2. I have three brothers, two older, and one younger. Besides my wife, they are my best friends.
  3. I am a quarter Japanese.
  4. I really, really enjoy shortening words. Alexis understand me by now when I say something like, “I’m really trying to be clevs here, but I can’t think of anything.”
  5. I think Would You Rather is the greatest game ever invented. It’s the perfect way to break the ice and get to know how a person thinks. What people place value in is extremely interesting to me.
  6. Whenever I think about how we lived in London, it always seems way more glamorous in my head. But we were so poor that it was really hard to do much of anything. Yet still I romanticize it in my head every.single.time.
  7. I didn’t see snow until I was 18.
  8. I love sports. My favorite teams are the San Francisco 49ers, Los Angeles Lakers, and the Los Angeles Dodgers. Having lived in Washington, DC for three years, I’m also a huge fan of the Redskins, Wizards, and Nationals. #natitude
  9. I’ve never broken a bone or gotten stitches.
  10. I have been skydiving and bungee jumping.
  11. I love to surf and snowboard but haven’t done either in forever.

Now on to the questions Jelena posed to us:

What is the strangest food you’ve ever eaten?

David: Hot dog flavored aerosol spray cheese. My friend in high school brought it back from the Phillipines. I ate a spoon-full and proceeded to puke it right back up.

Alexis: Hmm, my dad once brought back a piece of fried alligator from Louisiana. Tasted like salty chicken. But I’ve also had frog legs and escargot in Paris! Pretty gross all around.

What is your favorite season?

David: God, this one is tough. I always struggle with this question because they’re all so good! I’d have to say Fall though. The temperatures are cooling down after a brutal summer, the leaves are changing, holiday season is here. I’m not a huge fan of Halloween, but I love Thanksgiving. Best holiday by far.

Alexis: Spring. For sure. I hate hate hate being cold, so when things finally start becoming warm again, I’m blissfully happy.

Ice cream or gelato?

David: Ice cream. Gimme the hard stuff.

Alexis: Psh, ice cream for sure. Funny story though: Growing up, ice cream was never one of my preferred desserts, but since meeting David I have become addicted. It’s a problem.

Did you watch Breaking Bad?

David: Only a few eps. I’ve been meaning to watch the whole thing though, I hear it’s amazing.

Alexis: Nope. I don’t usually like dark entertainment. Same reason I don’t like House of Cards.

What is a talent you wish you had?

David: To pick up languages really easy.

Alexis: It would be awesome to play a musical instrument really well! I played piano when I was younger but didn’t stick with it. Kinda hard to lug a piano around the world…

What are some hottest and/or coldest places you’ve been to?

David: Thailand is probably the hottest. Coldest? We’ve been to Iceland, which sounds cold, but we were there in the spring so it wasn’t too bad. The last week I lived in Colorado, it was -6ºF, so I guess that.

Alexis: Well, I grew up in Las Vegas, Nevada which is pretty freakin’ hot. My parents told me that in July 1989, the month before I was born, they were moving into their new Vegas home and it was 120 degrees Farenheit. Crazy. Coldest place? Probably Washington, DC actually…That wet cold is the worst.

If money was not an issue, where would you like to be on New Year’s Eve?

David: Hmm.. maybe like a rooftop party in NYC with all my friends and family. That way you’re part of the excitement, you get the community feeling, but you haven’t been standing out in the freezing cold for hours on end, smashed in like sardines with all the peasants below.

Alexis: I gotta agree with David on this one! NYC. Or ooo maybe Paris!

Southeast Asia or South America?

David: I’ve never been to South America, and I live in SE Asia, so I guess I gotta go with that.

Alexis: Again, gotta agree with David. SE Asia, please.

Big cities or small towns?

David: Small towns. Living in London forever solidied this fact.

Alexis: Can I pick something in between? I’d like a small city, please.

Where is your dream house located?

David: Love this question. We’ll start with a cliff. A really badass and dramatic cliff. Below the cliff is a beautiful, white sand beach in a little cove. The rocky cliff outcrop that my house is perched upon creates a nice little point break that I can surf whenever I want, without crowds. Within a half hours’ drive from my cliff house is a mountain where I can snowboard. I’m not that good, so I don’t have too many specification for the size of the mountain or the quality of the snow. Decent is good enough for me. In terms of where in the world, as long as I’m close to my family, I’m good. California has long been a place we’ve discussed settling down in because it’s right in between my family in Hawaii and Utah and Alexis’ family in Utah and Nevada.

Alexis: Probably in the foothills of a lush green mountain that just happens to have floor-to-ceiling windows with an unobstructed view of the ocean. Oahu, Hawaii would be a good place for that.

Cats or dogs?

David: Dogs, all the way. Cats are stupid and useless. I want a big ol’ dog to roughhouse with and take on hikes and play in the ocean.

Alexis: Dogs BUT little ones only. I’ve actually had a legitimate dog phobia my entire life, but it’s manageable now that I’m an adult. Yes, David and I are in direct disagreement about the size of our future family dog.

These are 11 blogs we nominate:

I’m sure some of these have more than 200 followers, but…shh…

www.girltrieslife.com

www.sweetdistance.com

www.goforth-explorer.com

www.ficklomat.wordpress.com

www.jayme.me

www.chelynb.wordpress.com

www.nomadlife.guru

www.padthaiandprozac.com

www.blissfulguro.com

www.cyclingabroad.com

www.unfamiliarvoices.wordpress.com

And the questions we pose to the newest Liebster Award Nominees:

  1. What’s your pet peeve?
  2. Sweet, salty, sour, or savory snacks?
  3. Where’s your happy place?
  4. What’s at the top of your bucket list?
  5. Do you have a lucky number?
  6. What’s the last song you listened to?
  7. Would you rather never be able to leave your home country again or never be able to go back?
  8. Ocean or mountains?
  9. If you could only have one country’s food for the rest of your life, what would it be (e.g. Thai, Mexican, Italian, etc.)?
  10. What’s your favorite movie?
  11. Would you rather, for the rest of your life, only be able to eat iceburg lettuce, or throw up violently every time you ate (but you can still drink water and juice without throwing up)?
4 thoughts on “Roses on the Road Won A Liebster Award!

  1. Pingback: We Won A “Very Inspiring Blogger” Award! | Roses on the Road

  2. Pingback: Fun Facts! I “Mustache” You Some Questions | Roses on the Road

Nice comments only, please :)

